Home : collaborators grants

 News
[Sept.19.2014]   
Nematode.net has undergone significant expansion, click here to learn more!

[Sept.10.2014]   
SNP annotations for a multiple-anthelmintic -resistant & -susceptible populations of T.circumcincta have been added into NemaBrowse!





Collaborators
Name
Institution
E-mail
Web
Project(s)
Appleton, Judith Cornell University, Ithaca, NY jaa2@cornell.edu web Trichinella spiralis
Arasu, Prema North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC Prema_Arasu@ncsu.edu web Ancylostoma caninum, Toxocara canis, Dirofilaria immitis
Bartholomeu, Daniella C. Instituto de Ciencias Biologicas, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Departmento do Parasitologia daniella@icb.ufmg.br   Hookworms
Baum, Thomas Iowa State tbaum@iastate.edu web Heterodera glycines
Bird, David North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC david_bird@ncsu.edu web Meloidogyne arenaria, Meloidogyne artellia, Meloidogyne chitwoodi, Meloidogyne exigua, Meloidogyne hapla, Meloidogyne incognita, Meloidogyne javanica, Meloidogyne paranaensis
Bisset, Stewart AgResearch stewart.bisset@agresearch.co.nz web Teladorsagia circumcincta
Blaxter, Mark Edinburgh University, Edinburgh, UK mark.blaxter@ed.ac.uk web Edinburgh/Sanger Parasitic EST Project
Brattig, Norbert Bernhard-Nocht-Institut fur Tropenmedizin-Hamburg nbrattig@bni-hamburg.de web Strongyloides ratti, Strongyloides stercoralis
Davis, Eric North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC eric_davis@ncsu.edu web Heterodera glycines
Davis, Richard E. City University of New York richard.davis@uchsc.edu web Ascaris suum
Donnan, Alison Moredun, Scotland Alison.Donnan@moredun.ac.uk web Nematodirus battus
Fujiwara, Ricardo Instituto de Ciencias Biologicas, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Departmento do Parasitologia     Hookworms
Gasbarree, Louis USDA, Beltsville, MD lgasbarr@anri.barc.usda.gov web Ostertagia ostertagi
Gasser, Robin University of Melbourne robinbg@unimelb.edu.au web Teladorsagia circumcincta
Geary, Tim McGill University, Canada web Ascaris suum
Geldhof, Peter Ghent University peter.geldhof@UGent.be web Cooperia oncophora, Ostertagia ostertagi
Gheysen, Godelieve Ghent, Belgium lighe@gengenp.rug.ac.be web Heterodera schachtii
Gilleard, John Department of Comparative Biology and Experimental Medicine,University of Calgary jsgillea@ucalgary .ca web Animal parasitic nematodes
Grant, Warwick La Trobe University, Australia W.Grant@latrobe.edu.au web Parastrongyloides trichosuri, Teladorsagia circumcincta
Hamza, Iqbal University of Maryland hamza@umd.edu   Caenorhabditis elegans
Hawdon, John George Washington University, Washington DC. mtmjmh@gwumc.edu web Ancylostoma caninum, Ancylostoma ceylanicum, Ancylostoma duodenale
Hotez, Peter Baylor College of Medicine, Section of Pediatric Tropical Medicine   web Necator americanus
Jackson, Frank Moredun, Scotland Frank.Jackson@moredun.ac.uk web Nematodirus battus
Jasmer, Doug Washington State Univ., Pullman, WA djasmer@vetmed.wsu.edu web Trichinella spiralis
Joachim, Anja University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna Anja.Joachim@vetmeduni.ac.at web Oesophagostomum dentatum
Jones, John T. SCRI, Dundee, UK jjones@scri.sari.ac.uk web Globodera pallida
Kapulkin, Vadim University of Colorado, Boulder CO kapulkin@colorado.edu   Ancylostoma ceylanicum
Laha, Thewarach Khon Kaen University, Department of Parasitology thewa_la@kku.ac.th web Food-borne trematodes
Lilley, Catherine University of Leeds, UK C.J.Lilley@leeds.ac.uk web Xiphinema index
Loukas, Alex James Cook University Alex.Loukas@jcu.edu.au web Necator americanus, Ancylostoma caninum
Matthews, Jacqui Moredun Research Institute Jacqui.Matthews@moredun.ac.uk web Nematodirus battus
Maule, Aaron G. Molecular Biosciences School of Biological Sciences Medical Biology Centre a.maule@qub.ac.uk web Plant and animal parasitic nematodes
McCarter, James P. Monsanto Company james.p.mccarter@monsanto.com web Zeldia punctata, Meloidogyne arenaria, Meloidogyne artellia, Meloidogyne chitwoodi, Meloidogyne exigua, Meloidogyne hapla, Meloidogyne incognita, Meloidogyne javanica, Meloidogyne paranaensis
Nutman, Thomas NIAID-NIH, Bethesda, MD tnutman@nih.gov web Strongyloides stercoralis
Opperman, Charlie North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC warthog@unity.ncsu.edu web Heterodera glycines
Prichard, Roger McGill University roger.prichard@mcgill.ca web Necator americanus
Schnieder, Thomas Institute for Parasitology, University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover Thomas.Schnieder@tiho-hannover.de web Dictyocaulus viviparus
Scott, Al Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD ascott@jhsph.edu web Ascaris suum
Shoemaker, Chuck AgResearch of New Zealand chuck.shoemaker@agresearch.co.nz   Parastrongyloides trichosuri
Smant, Geert Wageningen Univ., The Netherlands Geert.Smant@wur.nl web Globodera rostochiensis
Sommer, Ralf Max-Planck-Institut für Entwicklungsbiologie, Tübingen, Germany ralf.sommer@tuebingen.mpg.de web Pristionchus pacificus
Spieth, John Washington University, St. Louis, MO jspieth@watson.wustl.edu web WormBase
Sternberg, Paul Cal Tech, Pasadena, CA pws@caltech.edu web WormBase
Viney, Mark University of Bristol, Bristol, UK Mark.Viney@bristol.ac.uk web Strongyloides ratti
Weil, Gary Washington University, St. Louis, MO gweil@im.wustl.edu web Brugia malayi
Williamson, Valerie University of California, Davis, California vmwilliamson@ucdavis.edu web Meloidogyne hapla
Zarlenga, Dante USDA, Beltsville, MD Zarlenga@anri.barc.usda.gov web Ascaris suum, Cooperia oncophora, Trichinella spiralis, Ostertagia ostertagi
Zhan, Bin Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Tropical Medicine, The George Washington University mtmbxz@gwumc.edu web Necator americanus
Grants
Financial support for parasitic nematode EST sequencing at The Genome Institute at Washington University is provided by:
The Genome Institute (TGI) at Washington University in St. Louis has been awarded a grant through mid-2014 to study comparative genomics of Parasitic Nematodes. Making use of the large amount of cDNA and genomic data now available, this study aims to develop and use bioinformatic tools to process, assemble, and annotate incoming data, as well as focus on biochemical pathways conserved and/or taxonomically restricted including proteins that may prove useful as drug targets. Additionally this study will look at the nature and implications of nematode-specific insertions and deletions in proteins involved in environmental information processing and endocrine system.
The Genome Institute (TGI) at Washington University in St. Louis has been awarded a grant through the first quarter of 2015 to study the evolution of the nematode intestine, which is a key interface with the worm's host. Advanced bioinformatic approaches will be applied to delineate intestinal genes from all other available nematode genomes, emphasizing human pathogens that are too small to support direct analysis of intestinal functions. Intestinal protein families will be investigated to identify those that have undergone births or deaths and expansions or contractions throughout nematode evolution. Finally, we will determine functional categories of intestinal protein families that reflect adaptable traits of the highest importance in evolution of parasitism.
Scientists at The Genome Institute (TGI) at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have received a four-year, million National Institutes of Health (NIH) grant to study the genetics of two groups of parasitic roundworms, ascaris and hookworm. - May 25, 2004.

NIH-NIAID research grant AI46593 "A Genomic Approach to Parasites from the Phylum Nematoda" to PI Robert Waterston, M.D., Ph.D. Provides support for 125,000 ESTs from ~12 species, March 2000 - March 2003
NSF Plant Genome Award 0077503 "Genomic Dissection of a Nematode-Plant Interaction: a Tool to Study Plant Biology" to PI David Bird, Ph.D., and co-PI Sandy Clifton, Ph.D. Provides support for 80,000 ESTs from Meloidogyne species, November 2000 - November 2003.
Max-Planck-Institut, Germany. Contract for 15,000 ESTs from Pristionchus pacificus in collaboration with Ralf Sommer, Ph.D. 1999-2001.
British Medical Research Council, UK. Contract for ~10,000 ESTs from Strongyloides ratti in collaboration with Mark Viney, Ph.D., 2001.

 
  Nematode.net v4.0           Copyright Statement
  User support forum Nematode.net User Support
Webmaster       nematode@genome.wustl.edu
The Genome Institute Washington University School of Medicine